Visa Waiver Program and ESTA

The Visa Waiver Program

  • The Visa Waiver Program (VWP), administered by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) in consultation with the State Department, permits citizens of 40 countries, including Brunei, to travel to the united States for business or tourism for stays up to 90 days without a visa by applying for an ESTA authorization.


VWP Restrictions

  • The Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015 (the Act) put new restrictions on the use of the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) for certain categories of travelers.
  • Under the 2015 Act, VWP nationals – including Bruneian nationals – who have traveled to or been present in Iraq, North Korea, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, or Yemen at any time or or after March 1, 2011 AND anyone who is a dual national of Iraq, Syria, Iran, North Korea, or Sudan are ineligible to use ESTA.
  • Additionally, if you have traveled or resided in Cuba on or after January 12, 2021, please be advised that you are also ineligible to use ESTA.
  • The U.S. Embassy strongly recommends that affected individuals apply for a U.S. visa as far in advance of their intended travel as possible to avoid any disruption to their travel plans.  Detailed instructions on visa application in Bandar Seri Begawan is available on the Embassy website.